An unexpected portrait

I promised myself I would post more frequently this year. I’ve even set myself weekly reminders! And I’ve got the WP app on my phone and iPad, so really there’s no excuse.

I’ve also promised myself that I’ll practice photography more and post process my images sooner too. Wish my luck!

I’ll start this year off with this portrait I took of my brother a couple of days after Christmas. I just got to post processing it last night, and it’s now in my favourite photos.

I made the conscience decision to go out as close to the golden hour as possible and capture and few photos with my brother. I knew what I wanted to capture and I got a few other good photos, which I’ll post another day, but this turned out to the best.

My brother isn’t a natural model or poser so getting him to look at the camera naturally wasn’t working. So instead I got him to walk naturally towards the sun and stop and hold still. And he did!

While I was post-processing, I stumbled across these tones. I loved them and they suited his skin tone. I increased the highlights and messed with the mid-tones a bit after watching this free tutorial on Morgan Burks.

Tones

f/3.5; ISO 100; 1/160; 50mm

I need to figure out how to get these tones again.

Don’t you just love it when the unexpected happens!

Leave a comment